Chinese    Chinese Typing, Chinese Input, Chinese Speech, Chinese Learning, Language Tool    www.hanwj.com


HanWJ Chinese Software Frequently Asked Questions





Q£ºWhy I can not type in Chinese on Internet Explorer 7 on Vista?

A: To type Chinese on IE7 on Windows Vista, the protected mode in IE7 needs to be turned off.
To do this, click on Tools|Internet Options|Security tab in IE7. There is a check box to turn the protected mode on or off. If this feature is enabled, keyboard hook is blocked in IE7. HanWJ Chinese Input Engine use keyboard hook to monitor and convert keystrokes. You need to restart IE7 for the change to take effect.

Q£ºWhy is that when I type number key 1, the second choice is selected?

A:This is a selectable feature of HanWJ(changeable in Input Options Dialog).
Normally it should be number key n selects the n-th choice. This is also HanWJ's default behaviour.
But, since the first choice is already selectable by spacebar(very convenient) and the number keys 1 and 2 are easy to mistype, HanWJ has the option to set number key 1 to select second choice just as key 2; this way, key 1 and 2 both selects the 2nd choice, making choosing 2nd choice convenient,thus increasing the fault-tolerance on mistyping.

Q: Why can't I see Chinese displayed on English version of MS Word? I just typed in Chinese using HanWJ Chinese Input Engine£¿

A: For western language version of MS Word, in order to display Chinese, you need to go to Windows Start menu, choose Programs|Microsoft Office Tools|Microsoft Office Language Settings, then select Chinese(simplified). You also need to select a Chinese font(SimSun,MS Hei, MS Song,MingLiu,etc) for Chinese text in your document.
As with MS Word, to display Chinese, many applications require you to select Chinese font for Chinese text in your document. e.g., MS Word,MS Access, etc. See above.

Q: On candidate-bar, why is that the first candidate doesn't have a number in front of it like other candidates£¿

A: The first candidate can be input with space-bar.

Q: After installing HanWJ software, how do I launch it£¿

A: If you selected Desktop Icon option, you can launch it at desktop; otherwise, you can launch it from Start menu.

Q: When saving a document typed-in using HanWJ on MS Word(western language version), I selected option "text only", then after saving and reopening the document, I found that the content is all question marks.

A: Since the problem happens when saving a Word document, obviously it is not a HanWJ issue. To avoid this situation, when you save a document with Chinese content, please save it as Encoded Text, MS Word would then ask you the language encoding, you can give GB2312 for simplified Chinese or Big5 for traditional Chinese.

Q: When I send email out to my friends, they told me they cannot read the Chinese content. How to avoid this£¿

A: This depends on what software you use to send email.Generally speeking,if there is an Encoding option, please set it to be GB2312(or Big5, if using traditional Chinese) before sending email out. For example, if using HOTMAIL, right click on email, select Encoding in the popup menu; if using OUTLOOK,then go to Format menu, select Encoding.
The last method that always works is: sending out Chinese content as attachment to an email.

Chinese Toned Pinyin Input Software Q: How to input toned pinyin?

A: When in Chinese input mode, type in pinyin letters and tone key, then use Right-Alt+e to input the toned pinyin. See figure. Note: Tone keys are the left-most column of keys on the normal keyboard, representing the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th tones, respectively.








Q: What can HanWJ help when I receive emails with messed-up Chinese content?

A: You can copy the content to HanWJ Smart Editor and recover the Chinese codes with HanWJ's tools in Transformation menu.
Tip: When using Outlook, if email content contains messed-up codes, when sending email out, Outlook would ask you whether to send it as GB codes or Unicode; whatever you choose, somebody still may receive messed-up codes; the better way is: send out email twice with each of the options.

Q: On western Windows, in addition to inputing Chinese, is HanWJ also responsible to display Chinese in apllication windows£¿

A: HanWJ Chinese Input Engine utilizes Windows's Font-mapping feature to realize Chinese display on application windows.
For the Windows' font-mapping to work, your system need to have Chinese language support in place; to know whether your system has it, just start Internet Explorer, go to any Chinese web site(e.g., www.sohu.com), if you can see Chinese, then your system already has Chinese language support.
If you cannot see Chinese in IE, right click on the web page, select Encoding, then select Chinese Simplified(GB2312), Windows will then start installing Chinese language component.

In other words, instead of hacking into Windows to force Windows to display Chinese, HanWJ utilizes Windows' existing multi-language capabilities, and that is one reason why running HanWJ is quite stable.

Some program does not support this font-mapping feature, e.g., Notepad on Window 95/98.

Q: How to switch between Chinese and western input modes?

A: The shortcut is pressing F12 or Ctrl key(selectable in Input Options Dialog).You can also use Right-Alt+=(pressing '=' key while holding down Right-Alt key).

Q: How to add new words to word-base?

A: (1) When inputing Chinese using HanWJ, if you cannot find the word on the candidate list, you normally construct it by entering its components; when you finally entered it, the new word constructed will automatically be added into the word-base. (2) For adding word in batch mode, you can go to menu Manage WordBase; it wil launch WordBase Management Module. With that module, you can paste a group of words into the main window, then select "Add All".

Q: Why is that when I type in a upper case western letter, HanWJ switched to western mode?

A: This is because on your Input Option Dialog, the option "Shift letter switch to English mode" is checked. Please uncheck it if this option is not desired. The default setting at HanWJ's installation is off for this feature.

Q: When installing new version of HanWJ, I did uninstallation of old HanWJ; but somehow the system does not let me do so.

A: If HanWJ is currently running,then system will not let you to uninstall HanWJ. Please close all HanWJ programs before uninstall HanWJ software. To close HanWJ Input Engine, right-click on the HanWJ icon at the system tray at the right-bottom corner of screen,then select Remove From Taskbar.

Q: I just installed HanWJ Smart Editor,but when I run it, I cannot switch to Chinese mode. I got a message: "HanWJ Chinese Input Engine is currently running. Please use it to input Chinese". But I already closed HanWJ Input Engine.

A: To completely shutdown HanWJ Input Engine,right-click on the HanWJ icon at the system tray at the right-bottom corner of screen,then select Remove From Taskbar.

Q: How to install HanWJ Chinese Smart Editor Speech Edition?

A: (1) First make sure you downloaded the installer for Speech Edition. It is different from the non-Speech installer.
(2) When installing, near the end, you will be asked whether to install Microsoft Speech Module, if you haven't installed it before or you are not sure, answer yes.

Q: How to input pinyin vowl with ShengDiao (accent) in HanWJ Chinese Smart Editor?

A: In western input mode, while pressing the vowl key, press down ShengDiao key (in HanWJ Chinese input method, the ShengDiao keys are the four keys on the leftest column of the keyboard, i.e., the '~' key, Tab key, Caps key, and Shift key; these four keys represents the 1-4th ShengDiao in pinyin, respectively).

Q: How to copy Chinese text from HanWJ Chinese Smart Editor to an Email system?

A: Please use Ctrl+D to copy selected texts in HanWJ Chinese Smart Editor. If using Ctrl+C, sometime Chinese text does not show up. That is a bug in Windows system(You may reproduce the problem by trying to copy Chinese text from Windows' Wordpad to email system).

Q: Sometimes when I typed some Chinese words, HanWJ prompted some forecasted words in a small window. Which key should I use to enter them?

A: F8 or Right-Alt+P.

Q: When typing on a slower PC using HanWJ, should I disable Word Forecast Option?

A: Yes. For slower PC, for example, those with CPU speed lower than 400MHZ, it is suggested that the Word Forecast Option be unchecked on the Input Options Dialog. It'll speed up HanWJ significantly.

Q: Can HanWJ Chinotes save Unicode file?

A: Yes. Just choose Encoding to be Unicode when saving.

Q: HanWJ Chinotes in line wrap mode: When display document,why sometimes the right side is not well-aligned?

A: Because you are using non-fixed-pitch font. Fix-pitch here means the width of two western letters equal the width of one Chinese character.Normally all Chinese font meet this requirement. Courier New, Modern, etc, are ok too. Arial is not.Under main menu, there's "Select Fixed-Pitch Font" submenu for this purpose(Note,for some reason, some Chinese fonts are not listed there, but they realy are fixed-pitch and can be selected in "Set Font" submenu).BTW, when not using fixed-pitch font, Block-Select feature is not available.

Q: The installers for HanWJ Smart Editor, Annotated Chinese Reader, and SpeechAnywhere, ask for installing Microsoft TTS Engine at the end of install process. Do I need only install Microsoft TTS Engine once?

A: Yes. You need only install Microsoft TTS Engine once.


Chinese Input Guide

English    欢迎您使用《汉王简》    www.hanwj.com


《汉王简》使用问题解答





问题:为何在视窗 Vista 的互联网浏览器 Internet Explorer 7 上无法用汉王简输入?

答: 若要在视窗 Vista 的互联网浏览器 7 上用汉王简输入, 需要勾掉互联网浏览器 7 的 保护模式.
勾掉保护模式的地方: 点击浏览器菜单的"工具|互联网选项|安全"对话框. 这个对话框上专门有个开关安全模式的选项控件.
这个互联网浏览器7的安全模式, 如启用, 将屏蔽掉所有键盘拦截器. 汉王简中文输入需要插入键盘拦截器才能工作. 如您更改了安全模式, 您需要重启动互联网浏览器 以便使得新设置起作用.

问题:为什么当用拼音输入时,我用数字键1选字时,选出的却是第二个选项?

答:这是一个汉王简特有的功能(可以设置)。
选项的传统选法是数字n选择第n个选项。这也是汉王简刚安装时的设置。
汉王简的考虑是:第一个选项因为用<空格>已能输入,再用 1 就没必要了.而拼音输入选词时 容易选错键。为使第二个选项易敲对,汉王简提供一个选择,就是 1,2 都选第二项。 这样第一项有空格对付,第二项由1,2对付。增强了容错性。
如不喜欢,你可以到"汉字输入设置"对话框中把这改过来.

问题:用汉王简输入引擎在微软英文 Word 中输入汉字时,为什么看不到汉字显示?

答: 对微软英文 Word, 要显示汉字,先到屏幕左下角 Start菜单,选择 Programs|Microsoft Office Tools|Microsoft Office Language Settings,加入Chn(PRC)。
要显示汉字,还要选择中文字体,如 MingLiu,MS Hei, MS Song, SimSun 等等。其他 很多应用程序也要求中文字体才能显示汉字。例如微软的 Access,PowerPoint,等等。

问题:在选字栏上,第一个选项为什么不像其他选项一样前面有个数字?

答:第一个选项可用空格输入。

问题:安装上汉王简程序之后,在哪里运行呢?

答: 如果你在安装时选择了建立桌面图标,则可在桌面上找到汉王简图标.否则可在屏幕左下角“开始”菜单里找到汉王简的菜单选项。

问题:我在英文MS Word上用汉王简打入中文文件,存盘时选类型为"text only",存后却发现全存成了问号。

答: 因问题发生在用Word存盘过程中,故这不是汉王简的问题。解决问题的方法是,当你用WORD存盘时, 用Encoded Text方式,Word会问你代码类型,你可选GB2312。

问题:我给国内的朋友用汉王简发电邮时,对方收到的是乱码。请问怎样设定才能让对方读的出?

答: 这和用是什么软件发电邮有很大关系。一般而言,写信/发信时要把信件内码(Encoding)选好。 比如,如果是用HOTMAIL,发信时Encoding一定要弄成GB码.你可以单击鼠标右键,然后选择网页的Encoding. 如果是用OUTLOOK,请到Format菜单选项选Encoding为Chinese GB2312。
另外,你也可将中文信做为附带文件随主信寄。

Chinese Toned Pinyin Input Software 问题:汉王简拼音中如何输入带调拼音?

答:在中文输入状态下,敲入拼音及声调键,然后用右ALT+e 便可输入带调拼音。 如图。注:汉王简拼音的声调键就是键盘最左边的一列键,自上而下分别代表第1-4声。








问题:当回别人的电邮信时,如果信的标题或内容中有乱码如何处理?

答: 有以下几种方法。
(1)可以将有乱码的部分拷贝到汉王简巧文书或文本编辑Chinotes中,用其上的乱码纠正功能消灭乱码后 再复制回去。
(2)以Outlook为例,如果乱码消不干净,则Outlook在发信时会问你是按GB码还是Unicode发,无论怎样填 回答,都可能会有人收到乱码;干脆你就按两种方式各发一次。

问题:在西文视窗系统上,汉王简输入引擎除了用于输入汉字,是否也负责显示汉字?

答: 汉王简输入引擎本身不负责显示汉字.它利用Windows中存在的字体映射Font-mapping功能 来实现在多数窗口上的汉字显示.
如您的机器运行的不是中文视窗操作系统,则显示中文要有一个条件:机器上已经装了微软的中文语言包。怎样知道自己机器上是否装上了中文语言包呢?很简单,只要您能在微软因特网浏览器(IE)上看到中文,那就表明装上了(可到任意一个中文网站,例如 www.sohu.com,试看中文)。
如您在微软因特网浏览器上看不到中文,则可在因特网浏览器视窗中按鼠标右键,选 encoding,然后再选Chinese Simplified(GB2312),安装过程随即开始...

换句话说,汉王简没有使用微软不支持的API去实现汉字显示;这也是其运行比较稳定的原因之一.

有些应用程序不配合这种字体映射功能,例如95/98中NOTEPAD.

问题:如何切换中文西文状态?

答: 中西文切换可以单敲F12或Ctrl键,可在输入选项对话框中设定.也可用右Alt+=(按右Alt的同时按等号键).另外,如你在汉字输入设置中启用了全拼的i-mode,则在用全拼时,敲字母i也可进入所谓i-状态(即临时英文状态);用ESC键退出i-状态.

问题:如何在词库中添加新词?

答: (1) 当你输入词句时,遇到新词,你自然会用分段组词的方式找到该词并输入之.这时,新词会自动入库. (2) 你可以选菜单“词库管理”启动词库管理模块。在其上,你可把想要加入的词拷贝到白色窗口中,然后再点击"全部加入"按钮,该词便可加入.也可以将整个汉字段落拷贝到窗口中,然后将这些语料分割为一个个较短的词汇、片语,最后再点击"全部加入"按钮,这些词就入库了。

问题:为什么输入英文大写字母后,汉王简就自动转为英文状态?

答: 这是因为你用的汉王简被设置成了这样。这个设置可以在汉字输入设置对话框中改变. 这个选项在汉王简刚安装时这个选项是关闭的。

问题:安装新版汉王简时,我想把老版汉王简卸掉;但不知何故系统不让我卸。

答: 如果汉王简正在运行,则系统不让你删除该目录。故请先关掉全部汉王简程序,如文本编辑,输入引擎。输入引擎的关闭:将鼠标移至屏幕右下角任务栏上汉王简图标处,点鼠标右键,选择关闭。

问题:我下载了巧文书,可是打不了中文。我点击“英文输入”力图将其变成“中文输入”时,就得到一个信息窗口,说“汉王简输入引擎正在运行,请用她输入”,可是我的输入引擎是关了的。不知道怎么搞的。

答: 汉王简输入引擎要从屏幕右下角的system tray中去掉才行。在屏幕右下角的system tray中,将鼠标移到汉王简图标,按鼠标右键,选择关闭。

问题:汉王简巧文书语音版在安装时有何问题要注意?

答: 安装汉王简巧文书语音版:
(1) 语音版和非语音版是两个不同的安装程序.请下载汉王简巧文书语音版安装程序.
(2) 安装时,会提问是否安装微软公司的语音模块;如果你以前没有装过,请回答"是". (即使以前安装过,再安装一遍也没关系).

问题:巧文书中如何输入带调元音字母?

答:在巧文书中,在西文输入状态下,可以用按下元音键,同时点一下声调键的办法输入带调元音。汉王简拼音的声调键就是键盘最左边的一列键,自上而下分别代表第1-4声(在选择项中也可以将这组声调键改为1-4数字键,但这只适于此处带调元音的输入之用,在一般中文输入时声调键还是键盘最左一列键)。

问题:如何将巧文书中文字拷贝到电邮系统中?

答:请使用Ctrl+D拷贝文字。使用传统的Ctrl+C时有时会出现问题,这是由Windows系统的差错引起的问题(你可以试一下从Windows自带的Wordpad拷贝中文文字到 电邮系统;你会发现同样问题)。使用Ctrl+D可避免出现拷贝失败的问题。

问题:当输入半个成语时后半部分会预先显示出来,按哪个键可输入小红苹果后面的内容?

答: 用 F8 或者 右Alt+P。

问题:在较慢的机器上用汉王简输入引擎输入汉字时应注意什么?

答: 如果机器较慢,例如CPU主频在400MHZ以下,建议不要用词语预测功能;可以到汉字输入设置对话框中,将“使用词语预测”选项关闭。

问题:汉王简文本编辑Chinotes可否将文件存为Unicode格式。

答:可以。存盘时可以选择内码为unicode.

问题:汉王简文本编辑Chinotes在折行显示文件时,右边为什么有时候对不齐?

答:这是因为你选择的字体不是"字母等宽"字体。"字母等宽"是说两个英文字母的宽度和一个汉字宽度 相等。中文字体如宋体、新宋体、黑体等等都符合要求,Courier New,Modern等也行。Arial则不行。 “选择项”菜单上专门有“选择字母等宽字体”一项 (注意,有些中文字体因其设计有错未出现在等宽字体表中,但它们确是等宽的;可在“选择字体”菜单中选出)。 另外,使用不等宽字体时,也无法使用列选功能。


汉王简输入指南